Are we writers or gay writers?

As many of you know, my debut novel Hollowstone drops on June 17 and you can find out more about it here.

I’ll be posting more on my journey in making Hollowstone a reality in the not too distant future.

While promoting the novel, one of the things I’ve discussed is the hardships of being a marginalized writer.

While Hollowstone has many things working in its favor, because it features marginalized characters and tackles bigotry in a pull-no-punches manner, I knew it would disqualify me from many markets. Which is exactly what happened.

And while I was blessed to find a great publisher, a huge part of me mourns the incredible voices and stories we’re missing out on because of such a bigoted industry.

Suffice to say, this post which was forwarded to me, was a most interesting read. Because it’s something I can relate to all too well.

4 thoughts on “Are we writers or gay writers?

  1. I would say both. And one thing that gets me is it’s important to BE a gay writer if writing something with gay characters – it’s certainly something I look for when there are so many books about gay men that aren’t written by gay men – and a goodly portion of them give me grey hairs and a migraine. Being a gay writer when writing stories with gay characters has an important element ofg telling our own stories and preserving a vital element in a very very fraught genre.

    But sadly, yes, being a marginalised person writing about marginalised things will instantly make you “niche” most of the time, specialty, selective taste, narrow. And it’s not just a bigoted industry (or industries since it applies in everything from publishing to theatre to television to cinema to comics to computer games to advertising – in fact every faction of media imaginable) but also because of a bigoted socioety that seems incapable of accepting marginalsied people in anything more than token, side kick or villain roles.

  2. Yep. It’s a case of ‘damned if you do, damned if you don’t’ – and many ways to be damned in both ‘do’ and ‘don’t’. 😦

    • I have to say he makes a valid point. It’s not unlike Octavia Butler and LA Banks who keep getting lumped into the African American section in bookstores even though their work is distinctly speculative fiction.

Comments are closed.