I’ve Got A Problem, Episode 2

Hello everyone and welcome to I’ve Got A Problem… with the Legend of Korra!

I usually save this series for content which fails in a most spectacular manner or which enrages me a whole lot, and this is one of them.

And trust me, this fails as well as enrages me, like you would NOT believe.

Hell, I could have made a fucking documentary out of all the failings of this show. And to think, it came from the same people who made the pretty damned good Avatar- The Last Airbender.

15 thoughts on “I’ve Got A Problem, Episode 2

    • And Lin Bei Fong should have been the main fucking character if they were going to make Korra into a complete fucking non-entity.

      • From what I’ve been reading, Mako is Michael and Bryan’s pet character, their favourite, which is why they hammered in a relationship between him and Korra, like she was a prize to him or something and despite it not working oh so very much.

        And as for shipping Asami with Korra, well, we all know that that is way more horrible than a DOUBLE MURDER SUICIDE.

        God, I would totally watch a series based on Lin Bon Fei, Hard Boiled Cop of Republic City…

        • Re: Korra/Asami being worse than double murder suicide

          You’re right. Forgot about that. Must not corrupt the youth and all that.

          Re: Lin Bei Fong, private eye

          WAAAAAAAAANT!

          Can you imagine Lin just grumbling about cases and dames and what not?

  1. Wow. I actually really enjoyed the series. But even I didn’t catch all those issues. I want to say he’s going really hard on the story, but as a woman, and a dark skinned black latina, I have to say it holds some truth.

    The creators pictured it as a mini series so all the rushed plot could be a result of that. But I can’t defend all the stuff he said and I agreed with. Do you really expect much else from two middle aged, white, abled bodied, cisgendered men?

  2. Wow. I actually really enjoyed the series. But even I didn’t catch all those issues. I want to say he’s going really hard on the story, but as a woman, and a dark skinned black latina, I have to say it holds some truth.

    The creators pictured it as a mini series so all the rushed plot could be a result of that. But I can’t defend all the stuff he said and I agreed with. Do you really expect much else from two middle aged, white, abled bodied, cisgendered men?

    Sent from my iPhone

    • No problem! It happens to all of us sometimes. And thank you for watching the video!

      And yeah, with something as complex as privilege, exploring it in 12 episodes was just not long enough. They needed much more time to really explore all of it. Even if the writing had been better, it still would most likely have been a rush job.

  3. “And to think, it came from the same people who made the pretty damned good Avatar- The Last Airbender.”

    From what I hear, that’s because those two guys did the writing themselves for Korra whereas they had a writing team for TLA.

    One thing which always bothered me about both series (we already know what a fucking trainwreck Korra turned out to be) is that they always put the Chinese names in the Western order and I just… At least for Japanese names, they chose to present it n the Western order for foreigners. The rest of us East Asians never agreed to the same practice. So you respect us enough to actually use our writing and have it mean something, worldbuild with enough awareness of our cultures to not mash it up as Asiana Generica, but yet don’t respect us enough to use our names the way we present it?

    Also annoyed with the way the actors pronounce the names in some cases, when it’s just plain wrong instead of just being accented. Did you have any idea how long it took me to process the way the show pronounced Aang’s name?! *Sobs* We talk a lot about The Movie Which Must Not Be Named being whitewashed to hell but I don’t think I’ve seen a lot of mention about how the cast for the cartoons aren’t very colourful either.

    But I liked TLA anyway and then when I heard of Korra, I was HYPED. Have to wait for it to be syndicated here, or for someone to upload it elsewhere? Fuck that! I downloaded a proxy and watched the preview episodes from the official site on the day it was released (because region lock). Then I thought Korra looked less muscular than in the preview image but whatever, she’s still awesome. And later, I wanted her to have to eat her words later when dealing with the Equalist demonstrator, but a doubt fostered at the back of my mind. Then Lin showed up and I was all “AW FUCK YEAH!”

    Korra and Mako looking out the window at the same time. I was going “Oh shit, but this guy’s a total jerk ass.” Decided I’ll let him prove himself not to be a jerkhole though. Asami appears, I waited for her and Korra to talk. Didn’t dare to ship them. Knew it would never happen.

    As the weeks past, I made like Daniel Bryan and yelled “NO! NO! NO!”. The show responded “YES! YES! YES!” “NO!” “YES!” “NO!” “YES!” By the end of it, I came out a little hollow. I’ve been waiting for it ever since it was announced, forgot how long ago that was. It had the potential to be one of the best US-made animated TV shows. Yet, it could not have a worse ending. Wait, I really don’t want to be saying that do I?

    • Oh, I’m sure that Book 2 will really disappoint… sorta…

      The ONLY bit of good news I heard about Book 2 was that they were bringing in writers from the first series, and that’s it.

      I rage quit this series by Episode 8, I was just so done with it, and was pissed when I heard that Lin was depowered and that her sacrifice meant NOTHING. More and more, it felt like the show presented these awesome women, and then beat them all down for no good reason.

      I took Japanese, so I know how to pronounce Japanese names properly, but yeah, the pronunciation of the names and the arrangement of them was something I hadn’t considered. Just one of those things that flew right over my head. >__<

  4. Mako and the villain was probably the worst part of this series. Honestly Mako was just the worst, his brother was way more fun and didn’t, uh, ‘cheat’ on a totally awesome person (I’m sorry if this dips into ‘shipping’ but seriously Bolin acted like kid who’s never had nothing and then getting everything while Mako acted like a entitled jag-off. Overall I just thought the character (Bolin) was more realistic and not an dick, he backed off of Korra pretty quick once she signaled she wasn’t interested.). The villain…Amon was one of the biggest reason (the other being Korra which of course they fucked up. Somehow Mako got off one more hit when even the Avatar couldn’t. Goddamnit.) I was pumped for this season. A villain with a totally legit reason of bringing about change? Bring it on! I was pumped for the Avatar to take on the challenge of a group whose complaints and unrest were completely and utterly justified. It was like the complete reversal of the first series. But they failed me, they failed you, they failed the characters they created (even Mako, it’s not easy to go from brother to parent-brother). They pretty much failed everyone.

    Even with all of that I still ‘liked’ it. Mostly because it’s hard to find mainstream media to feature anything close to First Nation people to be featured as main characters. I know the Water Tribes are based on Inuit people but it’s kind of close (not really but I reach).

  5. By the way, regarding how some of the characters’ skins got lightened and all, I wouldn’t use the term “whitewashing” in this case since none of the characters are white or were made white.

    • Yeah, I should have used something other than white washing as there are no white people in that word… bleaching would have been better.

Comments are closed.