I’m a Black Female Cosplayer And Some People Hate It

femalecaptainamerica

 

‎”Here’s the second deal: I’m also black. Which is fine by most everyone, until I have the audacity to cosplay a character who isn’t.

After my pictures started making the rounds on deviantArt, tumblr and 4chan, it became pretty clear that my cosplay brings all the racists to the yard, and they’re like…white cosplay is better than yours.”

 

Read this article NOW!!!!

 

File this under why White Fandom needs to die and rot in hell. This is a taste of the hatred, denigration, and pure unadulterated hell  that fans of color have to endure every day.

Also, mad love and respect to the beautiful, talented, and immensely awesome Chaka Cumberbatch for standing tall and being every bit of the super heroine that she cosplays.

You can follow her and show her some love here: http://www.facebook.com/PrincessMentalityCosplay

 

5 thoughts on “I’m a Black Female Cosplayer And Some People Hate It

  1. Ridiculous!

    It’s sad that you can’t even have some fun without some racist ruining the whole show. I remembered attending the Dragon Con convention and just looking at how many people dressed as their favorite anime/comic book character. It was a splurge of the moment thing,but we didn’t dress as anything. I intend to go to the 2013 one. There have been characters that fascinated me and that I wanted to dress as. Though the show haven’t came on in ages, I loved Space 1999/Moon Base Alpha. Maya was the woman I wanted to emulate because of how she could blink her eyes and change to anything she wanted. She’s a White British woman,but I don’t care. I like her and that is who I would be.

    I support Chaka to the fullest. I hope she keep doing what she do and have fun with it. It’s funny how her racist critics want to down her like that. If anime/comic/sci-fi world was reality, it should nauseate them because it’s about everybody.

  2. Honestly, she wears that outfit great and more power to her for doing it. The people who bash other people for cosplaying like that……racist hypocrisy about what should be something fun and an expression of people’s love of their favorite genres is a fail.

  3. I caught this on tumblr due to a reblog from Gail Simone, and god dammit, this pisses me off to no end. White cosplayers are better? On what fucking grounds, you god damned racist shitheads?

    Chaka is a fantastic cosplayer and when I first saw her picture as Sailor Venus, my first thought was “WOW, she IS Sailor Venus!” Not only was the costume perfect, but she had the pose and the attitude down pat. She was Sailor Venus appearing in our three dimensional world.

    Another cosplayer who occasionally faces shit like this is msjayjustice, found here, http://msjayjustice.tumblr.com/ , another tumblr user I follow and one fucking fantastic cosplayer who also received Gail Simone’s love and support. Like Chaka said, it’s bad enough they have to face off against the rise of the whiny man-children who are upset that women like what they like, but then there’s the issue of racism piled on top, and all when they’re just trying to have fun and show some love and support for their entertainment of choice.

  4. Is not the whole point of cosplay dressing up as people different from you? Do they disqualify Superman cosplayers if they can’t fly? (Or, you know, aren’t aliens?)

  5. Pingback: What Fandom Can Learn From Onyxcon « Dennis R. Upkins

This blog is strictly moderated. Failure to honor the spirit of this space and the guidelines set forth in the "Before you Comment" and "Act Like You Got Home Training" sections will result in your comment being spammed and trashed, and you banned. This is not negotiable.

