Gayness In Comics: A Response

So with news about DC and Marvel’s latest gay publicity stunts, there’s been some backlash. One Million Moms, “a project of the American Family Association (AFA)” — an organization designated as a hate group by the Southern Poverty Law Center (SPLC) — are flipping their shit once again. All 47,000 of them.

In addition, I’ve received reports from friends and colleagues that more than a few comic book stores have banned the gay comic books in question. I’m not surprised by this as the same crap happened when Batwoman and Kevin Keller debuted a few years back.

And I’m not going to even mention how many times comics featuring black heroes conveniently don’t get ordered at many comic book stores.

However I would like to respond to this matter.

So for those of you out there who are immensely outraged at the thought of anything remotely gay or find gay content painful to view, please allow me to assuage your concerns:

 


NOW STAY MAD!!!!!!!!

15 thoughts on “Gayness In Comics: A Response

  1. Personally, I think the book and issue should’ve been tacked on somewhere with those pics. I mean really–Shatterstar & Rictor?! Finally! Where the hell was I when I missed out on that and when?

    • “Personally, I think the book and issue should’ve been tacked on somewhere with those pics.”

      *Points to the top pic and points to link*

      “I mean really–Shatterstar & Rictor?! Finally! Where the hell was I when I missed out on that and when?”

      That actually happened a few years back and Rob Liefeld flipped his shit over that and there was a huge controversy because he vowed to ungay Shatterstar. Because Shatterstar was meant to be a badass warrior not gay. Yes that’s what he said. I’ll let you ponder on that for a moment.

      • Yeah, no worries about that now, Neo. Rob Liefield is working for DC now, making his crappy art, so he’s got no time to ‘ungay’ Shatterstar.

        The irony is that anyone with a passing knowledge of Shatterstar can see how much he was modeled after the Roman warriors of the collisieum, and being gay wasn’t a big deterrent there, IIRC.

        • Yep yep. And as a former reader of X-Force I often kinda felt there had to be something more to Shatterstar & Rictor’s friendship, at least on Shatterstar’s side of things and that vibe couldn’t be just because he was “foreign” or roar-I’m-hardcore-warrior-gladiator-man when they started to give character to his personality.

          “*Points to the top pic and points to link*”

          Ehehehehe…the pretty pictures distracted me. ^.^;

This blog is strictly moderated. Failure to honor the spirit of this space and the guidelines set forth in the "Before you Comment" and "Act Like You Got Home Training" sections will result in your comment being spammed and trashed, and you banned. This is not negotiable.

