Outlantacon

So let’s talk about Outlantacon and why it is an epic of epic epicness. Now in its fourth year, it continues to grow and just gets more awesome. But no matter how big it gets, for me it’s going to always feel like home.

As I mentioned in a recent interview, I first heard about Outlantacon while I was at Dragoncon one year. I get down to Atlanta pretty regularly so I decided to make a weekend of it. I won’t lie, I was very nervous. I didn’t know anyone and I didn’t know what to expect. But everyone was very warm and welcoming and you could tell everyone was just excited to be there. I was able to relax, make some friends, and I had a blast.

It’s rare that I venture into LGBTQ settings because as a queer person of color, I often face more racism and hostility in those spaces than I do in heterosexual spaces. And as a black man whose lived in the South for most of his life, THAT should tell you something.

It goes without saying but even in many geek settings, I’m not able to celebrate fandom as a queer male.

The reason why Outlantacon has a special place in my heart because I get to be me. I get to geek out and talk about the hotness of future hubby#4 Chris Hemsworth in peace. It’s a safe space where I can be welcomed and have fun and enjoy life. And sadly there aren’t many places I can do that.

So to be a guest this year for one of my favorite cons is just 20 kinds of awesome.

So if you’re in the Atlanta area this weekend and you’re looking for something fun, join us. We have punch and pie. And cake. Punch, pie and cake. And me.  ;-)
And speaking of the hotness of Mr. Hemsworth:

One thought on “Outlantacon

  1. When you finally get that ring, will you invite me to the wedding? I want the opportunity to drool over Mr Hotness in a tux. Okay… and I like wedding cake. And you. Not necessarily in that order you understand, but I do have my priorities… ;)

Comments are closed.