Why Piracy Is Not Responsible For Ruining Entertainment

I found this brilliant piece over on Comics Alliance a few days ago and the article eloquently and succinctly broke down my feelings on why piracy is the least of the entertainment industry’s problems.

While the author is specifically discussing comic books, I think his points also apply to television, movies, music, publishing and other entertainment mediums.

One other point I would also add is that another reason why the entertainment industry continues to hemorrhage is because it blatantly ignores and denigrates marginalized audiences. Marginalized audiences who aren’t straight and white and have disposable income and is virtually an untapped market.

Despite evidence upon evidence that proves that diversity and marginalized media done with respect equals success, the powers that be would rather stick to the same business model and are essentially doing this:

6 thoughts on “Why Piracy Is Not Responsible For Ruining Entertainment

  1. I don’t know about the comic book industry but for others – well i’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, industry is not keeping up with technology.

    Sometimes I’m actively prevented from buying a book – even an ebook. It’s released in the US but not the UK – an ebook? what sense does this make?

    And there’s still decent songs stuck on albums of 10-12 utter crap songs we have to buy as well.

    And don’t get me started on pricing. I’ve seen ebooks that cost as much or more than not just paperback books, but hardback books.

    Sure there’s always going to be piracy – but you want to cut it down? Embrace the 21st century – culture and technology

    And the thing is – people can see how it should be done. Look at Steam, i love me some Steam. My husband loves it so much we’re going to be bankrupt pretty soon. Games straight to my computer, easily accessible and with deals and discounts that make them niot outright insulting to buy. Sign me up! A film or TV series I can download for a reasonable price straight to my computer/TV to watch when and where I want to without wall to wall adverts or a subscription to 800 channels each showing a different reality TV programme? Yeah, I’m in for that! A wide range of books available on MY e-reader (which means getting a unniversal damn standard) for a price that acknowledges there’s no need for bricks and mortar shops/printing etc? without 10,000 rules about how I use it and where? Love it!

    And when it comes to series? There’s a whoooooooole lot of drek out there and a limited way to dip your toe into the water first.

    • I hear you on the drek and how limited one is in dipping your toe into the water. Seeing stuff online first has helped me to avoid a lot of drek (thanks to many a commentary, comment, and observation by smart people here and elsewhere) but has also served to show me what IS good.

      Otherwise, I end up getting burned, and I’ve had that done to me enough times by books, comics, and TV shows. At least with games, you can rent those or even get a demo online to try it out first.

      • So true. there’s such a lot of crap out there and I have sunk money in and then had a severe case of buyer’s remorse. Some people are learning the importance of excerpts (and online reviews) but it’s slow coming (and fraught with dodgy author’s on the review front).

        i don’t want to drop £6.00 on an overpriced ebook to find out that it then pollutes my e-reader

  2. Last year I decided to cut out all the sh*tty media I consume. I thought I’d miss all the TV and movies I used to watch, but nope, it’s great. Not including news, I only watch a few TV shows (Community, Misfits, Leverage, Colbert/Stewart), I only watch movies if it’s with my family, I don’t listen to the radio, and I stopped reading fantasy YA fiction (which was all I used to read, I’m 23 btw).

    Everything is the same story with the same people (white, straight, able-bodied) and I’m sick and tired of it. What did it for me was the recent influx of white-washed movies (Dragonball Evolution, Avatar, 21, Akira) and severe lack of non-white people in all the books I was reading. I looked at my bookshelf and realized that the only book I owned that was about humans who were non-white was historical fiction about a freed slave.

    Sometimes I wonder if Hollywood and mainstream publishers actually care about people like me? Seriously, every story there is to tell about straight, white, able-bodied, men has already been told. Everything is the same story. Why can’t there be a story about teenage Asian motorcycle gangbangers in Neo-Manhattan? Why can’t a non-white person be the only main character in a movie/book/whatever? If there is a non-white main character there is always ALWAYS a white person who is expected to carry the movie/book and outshines everyone else especially in dramas.

    I just want to see one mainstream movie with a main character who looks like me (black, female) be the only, central, main character in a movie that isn’t about slavery, getting a man, or being sexually abused. Throw us a bone, please. I’m getting upset now, so I’ll stop here.

  3. Last year I decided to cut out all the sh*tty media I consume. I thought I’d miss all the TV and movies I used to watch, but nope, it’s great. Not including news, I only watch a few TV shows (Community, Misfits, Stewart/Colbert), I only watch movies if it’s with my family, I don’t listen to the radio, and I stopped reading fantasy YA fiction (which was all I used to read, I’m 23 btw).

    Everything is the same story with the same people (white, straight, able-bodied) and I’m sick and tired of it. What did it for me was the recent influx of white-washed movies (Dragonball Evolution, Avatar, 21, Akira) and severe lack of non-white people in all the books I was reading. I looked at my bookshelf and realized that the only book I owned that was about humans who were non-white was historical fiction about a freed slave.

    Sometimes I wonder if Hollywood and mainstream publishers actually care about people like me? Seriously, every story there is to tell about straight, white, able-bodied, men has already been told. Everything is the same story. Why can’t there be a story about teenage Asian motorcycle gang-bangers in Manhattan? Why can’t a non-white person be the only central character in a movie/book/whatever? If there is a non-white main character there is always ALWAYS a white person who is expected to carry the movie/book and outshines everyone else especially in dramas. I just want to see one mainstream movie with a main character who looks like me (black, female) be the only, central, main character in a movie that isn’t about slavery, getting a man, or being sexually abused. Throw us a bone, for real.

  4. There is a LOT of other material that is fighting for my time, attention, and money these days, and most of it comes from online, mostly because of just how frigging far North I am. There are no book stores, comic shops, movie theatres, or any other places where I can go out and buy a book, and no, I am not including the drug store and their selection of crappy romance novels and Twilight.

    The last few games I bought were purchased online via Steam, as was Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic. I ordered many an eBook, as well as a few paper editions through Amazon, online, and then I have my own activities outside entertainment, such as walking my dog, creating my videos, and swimming every day.

    Compare all of that to buying either DC or Marvel comics, most of which makes me want to rip my face off in rage and use it to try and choke the stupidity out of people, and it’s already a lost cause. I do buy some comics, but of the ones I did purchase online onto my tablet, I’ve already stopped following three or four of the titles because of the bad direction they took, and they were costly. Yes, I have a well paying job, but 5 minutes of reading for 3 bucks is not a very good return on my investment of time versus money spent.

    And again, there’s the sensation that I AM going to be burned, sooner or later, because of editorial’s stupid directions and their investment in the same old instead of actually working in new, good material and pairing up good writers with good artists.

    And as for some other stuff online, I get it because I can’t get it anywhere else! One big example for me is Sentai, Kamen Rider, and other live action superheroe shows from Japan. Unless I order bootlegs from somewhere else, I can’t find it anywhere but online.

    But the biggest thing is, as I get older and wiser, I have become much more disconcerning about the entertainment I occupy myself with in my free time, and I’m sure as hell not going to spend it on seeing the same old boring crap repackaged in crappy Jim Lee designed armour.

Comments are closed.