Will you support queer Black women’s stories on stage?

“When I dare to be powerful – to use my strength in the service of my vision, then it becomes less and less important whether I am afraid” — Audre Lorde

Earlier this year, I wrote and produced a play called Tulpa, or Anne&Me that debuted at the Planet Connections Theatre Festivity.

Since that first production, I’ve often been asked about what’s next for Tulpa, or Anne&Me. This is a great sign because it means that the play has touched people in some deep places and led to powerful moments of growth and healing for many. I feel a real responsibility to make this piece the best I can make it and bring it to as many places as I can where people want and need to see it.

Right now, I’m talking with someone who can offer me an opportunity for more performances in mid- to late April. Despite the fact that I’m based in NYC, there are still only a few plays by and about queer Black women being made. Although the world we live in wants me to be comfortable with feeling insignificant, I no longer have the luxury to deceive myself into believing that my work and my voice are not important.

I am raising $3,000 for the 2012 production of Tulpa, or Anne&Me. If I reach this goal, my work will have another chance to do what it’s meant to do — pave the way for healing and transformation in our lives, relationships, and communities. If you contribute to this project, you will be doing more than putting a story on stage, but creating a vibrant opportunity to honor those of us who are Black and woman and queer.

Will you contribute to be part of that process?

(*Check out the IndieGoGo campaign for a moving promo video from Hollowstone author and Ars Marginal contributor Dennis Upkins)

One thought on “Will you support queer Black women’s stories on stage?

  1. “Despite the fact that I’m based in NYC, there are still only a few plays by and about queer Black women being made. ”

    And this right here sums it up brilliantly.

Comments are closed.