Open Discussion: What Is Your Favorite Video Game Movie?

This post is inspired by a discussion I was having today with a buddy on Twitter. So I thought I’d open it up to you fine readers.

What is your favorite video game films and why?

There are no right or wrong answers, but I thought it’d be cool to share.

And since sharing is caring. Below is my list:

In no particular order, here are my personal favorite video game films:

Final Fantasy 7: Advent Children

Streetfighter: Legend of Chun Li

Mortal Kombat 1&2: Yes I love the second one which has a wicked soundtrack by the by.

The Resident Evil Series

Tombraider: Where I discovered the uber sexy that is Daniel Craig. His shower scene made that movie for me.

DOA: Dead Or Alive. I enjoyed this movie in the campy tongue & cheek not to be taken seriously, context.

Tekken: The plot was okay, but for me it was the menz, the menz, good gawd the menz!

 

 

Interesting how these films are based on successful franchises that feature prominently women and or POCs as the main protagonists. Imagine that.

16 thoughts on “Open Discussion: What Is Your Favorite Video Game Movie?

  1. For me it was this:

    and this

    Those two although animated these movies will forever show that’s how you do a video game movie. Sorry Neo with the Exception of MK 1, The other ones was all that good, but it’s WAY better than King Of Fighters movie.

    • THe movie was fun and witty, After watching the the review on Doug Walker’s site. I liked it even more, although it was before people knew who Jet li and other Martial Artist was.

      • Ironically, when I rented the first Mortal Kombat movie, there was a trailer for Jackie Chan’s Rumble In The Bronx. That film ruined me because every western martial arts flick including MK, paled in comparison.

        • Of course, when Jackie Chan and Jet Li came people forgot about Van Damme and the American Martial Art flick. But the only one that came close was The Last Dragon. But when Jet Li and Jackie Chan went back the HK white people wanted to bring back it’s lost place in Hollywood. That’s why they whitewashed, 21, Dragonball, King of fighters, and Last Airbender.

    • That reminds me. Have you been watching Mortal Kombat Legacy. It’s out on iTunes. It’s actually pretty good.

  2. Mortal Kombat 1 did it best, as it made Liu Kang the main hero, and kept the story simple, focusing on a few characters without delving deeply into the 8 featured in the game at the time.

    The Street Fighter 2 animated movie is also on my top list, simply because the fights were so damn good, and the Western Soundtrack with bands like KMFDM was so damn good.

    DOA was funny at least. Goofy and stupid, but it knew where it was coming from.

    After that… I honestly have no idea. I hated the Resident Evil series since it had so little to do with the games, and I just can’t think of anything else.

  3. Super Mario Brothers. One time I had a nightmare that was nothing but the “Mario Mario and Luigi Mario” scene on repeat for hours.

Comments are closed.