Rewatching: Fushigi Yuugi

The first time I watched Fushigi Yuugi was in undergrad, when anime was one of the things I used to keep up with. Since the demise of Suncoast, that has waned, but I still like to visit my old favorites every now and again. I’ll spare you the details (or rather, force you to suffer with me by encouraging you to watch the English dubbed series online) to get to the point.

I remember loving this series. The ensemble cast, the humor, the fantasy – it hit all my soft spots. But I had a chance to watch it again, and . . . well, I’m not loving it so much anymore. Although I love the story and themes, the series has some serious gender issues. A short list:

  • The main character, Miaka, exhibits virtually no signs of intelligence or agency unless it revolves around Tamahome. No, really, you have a potential End of the World scenario here, and what’s most urgent and important to her is what her boyfriend is doing. As a matter of fact, she screams “TAMAHOME!!!!!” almost every five minutes for the first 40 episodes of the show.
  • For priestesses who will eventually decide the fate of the world, Miaka and Yui spend a lot of time being threatened with rape, escaping rape, and/or thinking they’ve been raped.
  • Nuriko – aka, the REAL star of the fucking show no matter what anybody says – got fucked over. At first it was all, “Wow! A fabulous trans woman with super strength! Yay!” Then it was, “Nuriko is a man who dressed up like a girl to take his dead sister’s place then got confused.” And my face was like: :-/.
  • Hotohori, the motherfucking emperor of the Good Guy Kingdom and supermodel^25 (often mistaken for a girl), is absent for most of the action and dies a stupid, meaningless death. Hrm. That’s another person who blurs gender lines who bites the dust without their heroic moment. Noticing the pattern here?
  • And of course the bad guy had to do what he did because he was forced into sex slavery by the emperor of Bad Guy Land. That makes so much sense as his primary motivation. As opposed to, say, the oppression and genocide of his people.
  • Yui fares a bit better as an antagonist. As a character, she’s more three-dimensional than Miaka; she undergoes a lot more growth, and her motives and actions make more sense in the context of what she experiences. Nevertheless, her characterization plays into the petty, jealous, catty stereotype of women.

That’s not to say that the series is bad. It’s just not as great as I remember it being. Do you have something that’s like that for you?

9 thoughts on “Rewatching: Fushigi Yuugi

  1. and/or thinking they’ve been raped.

    Worst fucking idea for drama ever. Like, singularly, absolutely worst.

  2. You’ll probably have the same reactions watching “Himiko-den” and “The Vision of Escaflowne.” Their plots and many of the characters are disappointingly similar.

  3. To be fair, I think that was only a part of it. That was just the final unbearable humiliation that made Nakago not want to feel powerless anymore. Than he became unfeeling and power hungry because the wrold had hurt him so badly.

    Sniff ;_; Fushigi Yugi was lame and Miaka got on my nerves, but I think she was supposed to. She didn’t really grow as a character like she was supposed to, or nearly as much as Yui.

    But when they did it right, they did it right.

    Escaflowne was better.

    • If you haven’t already, watch Juuni Kokki. It’s a very similar premise to FY, but done right. Empowered female characters! Female characters who empower one another through solidarity, understanding, and friendship! Fantastic character growth all around! No male gaze. In fact, practically no romance.

  4. Hotohori got a montage! Even Rocky had a montage!

    All the character deaths kind of felt shoehorned in

  5. Yepeey!
    I love fy, too. I first watched it when I was a seventh grader. It is (and will always be)my most beloved show (anime or not). I’m twenty-two now and I once fell into acute depression after realizing that the anime I’ve loved so dearly was not really perfect. Character flaws, Miaka’s nonsense actions, the super mushy romance between Tamiaka, etc. But now I have learned to accept those flaws because they’re nothing compared to the good memories and feelings that fy brings whenever I think or watch it.
    Fushigi yuugi is not just an anime for me. Most of my friends know I love Fy so whenever they see or hear something related to the show, they never fail to notify me.
    Some of them even gave me fy posters and pics. Public libraries have a soft spot in my heart, too. Lol!
    until now, one of my ultimate dream is still to shake hands with the great yuu watase. and yeah, despite the anime’s obvious blemishes, I’d never wish to change a single part of it.
    By the way, I think “Harukanaru Toki no Naka de – Hachiyou Shou” resembles FY more than any other anime I know.
    Good luck everyone. I hope to meet my fellow fy-lovers who adore the anime not just because it is an anime! ^^,

This blog is strictly moderated. Failure to honor the spirit of this space and the guidelines set forth in the "Before you Comment" and "Act Like You Got Home Training" sections will result in your comment being spammed and trashed, and you banned. This is not negotiable.

